Under Florida state laws, driving under the influence is defined as controlling a vehicle while under impairment caused by alcohol consumption or some other controlled substances. The Florida Department of Highway Safety considers anybody driving while showing a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 and over to be liable for criminal prosecution for driving under the influence. A DUI conviction may mean many a bad note for the several things you intend to pursue in your life. For instance, many employers background checks do rely on driving under the influence records of their potential employees, and the meaning here is that if you are DUI offender, you may somehow encounter some difficulties while pursuing your career goals. In any case, you want to apply for a motor insurance, the insurer may also want to check your driving under the influence record, and if there is a prior DUI charge, the chances are high that you might miss out on the position you are applying, primarily if there is driving involved.
A DUI on Your Record
From what our DUI lawyers have discussed, it is, therefore, important that you have detailed information on how long a DUI offense stays on your criminal record, assuming you have been convicted. At a minimum, a DUI conviction can remain on an individual’s record for ten years. Under Florida laws, how long a DUI conviction can stay on a an individual’s record is determined by factors such as the severity of the offense, if the offense has been committed multiple times, and also whether the offender does pose other driving threats. On the maximum end, the period can be as long as 75 years, and all this depends on the legal complexities involved. A driving under the influence conviction normally stays on a person’s record for ten years, and this applies for second and third offenders. The first DUI convictions in Florida are severe in comparison to other states, as the offenders are made subject to probation and incarceration that amounts to less than a year.
Penalties of a DUI Conviction
For those looking towards reinstating their licenses, and are first time DUI offenders. If you also happen to have a 180 day to one-year license revocation effective from the date of conviction, the state laws allow for the application of hardship license in the offender’s county before the revocation period expires. During this time of the hardship license, the offenders may be subjected to driving under the influence classes. Upon completion of the classes, the hardship license can then be applied for at the administrative offices where the offenders live.
Many people seem to be aware of the penalties, and fines associated with driving under the influence under the Florida state laws, and for clarity, it is important, we revisit the fines and penalties. Fines for first-time DUI offenders are usually $500-$1000, and this range does apply if the blood alcohol level is determined to be less than 0.15. Any blood alcohol level higher than 0.15 does attract fines which can reach up to $2000. The jury can also recommend fifty community service hours, and a jail term not exceeding six months, but this only applies to first-time DUI offenders. The biggest thing to takeaway is that you should always strive to maintain a clean driving record. Failure to do so may mean severe consequences but an experienced attorney can help you learn your legal options and to protect your rights.
For more information, get in touch with an experienced DUI attorney today.